Celebrating vibrant faith & gracious hospitality

Highfield Road Organ

The Highfield Road congregation began as a Methodist Church, and for Methodists singing was an essential part of worship. The first church which was opened in 1912 had a large reed organ, and this was transferred to the new building when it opened in 1925. It was placed against the wall behind the choir and pulpit, and must have experienced difficulty in leading the singing. At the end of World War II it was decided to install a pipe organ as a memorial to those from the congregation who had served, and an instrument which had been in a private home was purchased. This was a 2-manual and full-pedal organ with what appeared to be an impressive array of stops, but from the beginning the quality of the instrument was found to be unsatisfactory and in less than 20 years the church sought to replace it.

In the early 1960s the Methodist Church in Clifton Hill was closed, and its 1860s 2-manual and full-pedal Fincham organ was acquired by Highfield Road, rebuilt by Hill, Norman and Beard, altered from tracker to electric action, and opened in 1964 with a recital by Sergio de Pieri, the then organist at St Patrick's Cathedral. This organ, while too small to be a regular recital instrument, is admirably suited for the purpose for which it was originally installed, which is the accompaniment of choral and congregational singing. The specification is as follows:

Great: Open Diapason 8
Stopped Diapason 8
Salicional 8
Octave 4
Flute 4
Super Octave 2
Swell: Horn Diapason 8
Flute 8
Cornopean 8
Oboe 8
Gemshorn 4
Piccolo 2
Quartane 2
Sub-Octave
Super-Octave
Pedal: Violone 16
Sub Bass 16
Flute 8
Couplers: Swell to Great
Swell Octave to Great
Swell Sub-Octave to Great
Swell to Pedal
Great to Pedal